Elisa MacMillen

Elisa MacMillen2019-06-04T16:54:00+00:00

Project Description

From:  Jersey Shore, PA

What do you do for a living?
I’m a mother, college student, and VFW service officer. I hope to purse my dream career after college of helping young children as a probation officer or work in a detention center. I want the children to lead a better path in life to prevent from future problems or addictions. I have served over 12 years In the Army National Guard and loved to see the world.

How did you first connect with Herren Project?
I was introduced to Herren Project by Sean MacMillen. He started talking about Herren Project and wearing the gear. We shortly got shirts sent to the kids from Pam. We would wear the gear at races but never fully understood the meaning behind the shirt. I started watching videos on Herren Project and felt uplifted by the support everyone in the program was given to each other and families. We sometimes run together as a family and I try to share my values with the kids.

Who’s one of your running or athletic “heroes” and why?
This may sound weird but the “Old Me “is my hero. I use to run everyday and loved it, but a piece of me was taken in 2012-2013. I associate running with a terrible event that happened to me but am working my way back to running more. I want the fearlessness, passionate, and loving side of the old me back. The old me loved to laugh, pushed buttons, and stood tall. I feel more people need to be themselves in the world.

What are you most proud of?
I don’t have just one thing but many to be proud of that makes me who I am today. I’m proud of being a mother most of all. I came from foster care where family is a key word to holding an individual together. College would be my number two proudest moment because I never imagined I would make it in college. My life was so busy with kids and my family that I had to find time and will power. My third proudest moment is watching my children bloom into the perfectly flawed individuals they will become.